The Team

Meet the team

The Team includes: the editorial team, the Community Moderators, and a select group of Advisors who are experts in their fields.

Editorial Team

Jason Hibbets Jason Hibbets is a senior community evangelist in Corporate Marketing at Red Hat and an community manager. He has been with Red Hat since 2003 and is the author of The foundation for an open source city. Follow him on Twitter: @jhibbets
Rikki Endsley Rikki Endsley is an editor and community manager for Previously she worked as a community evangelist on the Open Source and Standards team at Red Hat. Other hats she has worn include: tech journalist; community manager for the USENIX Association; associate publisher of Linux Pro Magazine, ADMIN, and Ubuntu User; and managing editor of Sys Admin magazine and See her portfolio on, and follow her on G+ and on Twitter: @rikkiends.
Jen Wike Huger Jen Wike Huger is the content manager for She manages the publication calendar, coordinates the editing team, and guides new and current writers. A writer and people person at heart, Jen works with a vast community of writers to bring quality articles to the front page. You can find her on Twitter at @jenwike and
Jason Baker Jason Baker is passionate about using technology to make the world more open, from software development to bringing sunlight to local governments. He is particularly interested in data visualization/analysis, DIY/maker culture, simulations/modeling, geospatial technologies, and cloud computing, especially OpenStack. Follow him on Twitter or Google+.
Bryan Behrenshausen Bryan Behrenshausen has been a member of the team since 2011. In 2015, he earned his PhD in Communication from UNC, Chapel Hill. When he's not thinking or writing about all things open source, he's playing retro video games or reading classic science fiction. Around the Net, he goes by the nickname "semioticrobotic."
Alex Sanchez Alex Sanchez is the social media, marketing, and syndication specialist for He’s a multimedia storyteller with a particular interest in education, open government, design and photography. Follow him on Twitter.

Community Moderators

The community moderator program identifies key contributors and advocates and provides them with a framework for how they can contribute to the community and guidelines for how they can advise the team on future decisions about the site and community. Find out how you can join our team.

David Both David Both
VM (Vicky) Brasseur VM (Vicky) Brasseur
Mike Bursell Mike Bursell
Ben Cotton Ben Cotton
Jeremy Garcia Jeremy Garcia
Chris Hermansen Chris Hermansen
Joshua Holm Joshua Allen Holm
Nicholas Hunt-Walker Nicholas Hunt-Walker
Seth Kenlon Seth Kenlon
Jeff Macharyas Jeff Macharyas
Robin Muilwijk

Robin Muilwijk

Scott Nesbitt Scott Nesbitt
Ben Nuttall Ben Nuttall
Joshua Pearce Joshua Pearce
Chris Short Chris Short
Jason van Gumster Jason van Gumster
Don Watkins Don Watkins

Red Hat Advisors

Jeff Mackanic Jeff Mackanic has been at Red Hat for more than a decade and is currently responsible for the Global Awareness team. He has also spent several years in consulting, IT, and marketing.
Melanie Freeman Chernoff Melanie Freeman Chernoff monitors, evaluates, and attempts to influence U.S. and international legislation and government regulations affecting open source technologies and open standards as Red Hat's public policy manager.
Ruth Suehle Ruth Suehle is team lead for the Open Source and Standards (OSAS) team at Red Hat. Previously she was a writer for and an editor for Red Hat Magazine.
Rob Tiller Rob Tiller is Vice President and Assistant General Counsel in legal at Red Hat. He manages patent, trademark, and copyright matters and is a frequent speaker and writer on open source legal issues.

Community Moderator Alumni

Jono Bacon Jono Bacon
Nicole Baratta Nicole C. Baratta (Engard)
Remy Decausemaker Remy Decausemaker
Justin Flory Justin Flory
Carolyn Fox Carolyn Fox
Marcus Hanwell Marcus D. Hanwell
Jason Hare Jason Hare
D Ruth Holloway D Ruth Holloway
David Hurley David Hurley
Luis Ibanez Luis Ibanez
Sandeep Khuperkar Sandeep Khuperkar
Jay LaCroix Jay LaCroix
Deb Nicholson Deb Nicholson
Subhashish Panigrahi Subhashish Panigrahi
Phil Shapiro Phil Shapiro
Aseem Sharma Aseem Sharma
Nitish Tiwari Nitish Tiwari
Aleksandar Todorović Aleksandar Todorović