announces 2013 community award winners

No readers like this yet.
open source button on keyboard

The tallies are in, and we'd like to announce the winners of the 2013 People's Choice Awards! Plus, a few extraordinary contributors that have elevated the community.

People's Choice Award

We had 20 oustanding nominees. The poll was open for two weeks for our community to vote for the most outstanding contributors. The nominees wrote three or more articles last year or wrote an article that received more than 3,000 page views. You picked your favorites. And the winners are...

Pete Herzog

peteherzogPete is an avid maker, hacker, and researcher. He is the co-founder of ISECOM and created the OSSTMM for security testing and analysis. His current passions are neurobiology, hacking neurons, and making better safety lessons for children. His most popular post in 2012 was: In Hacker Highschool, students learn to redesign the future.

Nicole Engard

nengardNicole is the Vice President of Education at ByWater Solutions. She has dedicated herself to educating librarians about technology with a focus on open source. Nicole is passionate about Koha, an open source ILS (integrated library system), and libraries realizing the power of open source. She wrote multiple articles in 2012, her most popular being: Should we require that open source is developed openly?

Luis Ibanez

Luis IbanezLuis is a Technical Leader at Kitware Inc. and the director of Science and IP at the Open Source EHR Agent (OSEHRA). He has realized there is an urgency for bringing young, new open source developers into the space of healthcare IT, and wants to solve that problem. Luis is a regular contributor, and his series about the M Revolution has been his most popular post: Join the M revolution - M and R programming languages.

Moderator's Choice Award

The site moderators also gathered to choose an outstanding contributor for our Moderator's Award.

Remy DeCausemaker

RemyDRemy is a Research Associate at the Rochester Institute of Technology Lab for Technical Literacy. He also serves as Campaign Architect of FOSS@RIT. Remy's most popular post is: RIT STEM video game challenge hackathon.

Conversation Starter Award

From our community members who consistantly share their thoughts and expertise on the site through the comments section, thus generating discussion amoung other readers and, we chose two winners. They really get the conversation going and help make the dynamic community that it is.

Drew Kwashnak

Drew is involved with the Danbury Area Computer Society and is passionate about teaching and learning more about computers.

Steve Stites

Steve was the first community member to earn the Open Source Sensei badge.

Social Sharer Award

Social Sharers are community members who frequently spread their favorite articles from on social media and are active on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, and/or LinkedIn. We chose five community members who love to share:

  • Scott Nesbitt (@ScottWNesbitt) on Twitter
  • Robin Muilwijk (@i_robin) on Twitter, Google+, and Facebook
  • Richard Clinker on Facebook
  • Jason Robinson on LinkedIn
  • Abhishek Singh (@askmeaks) on Twitter

Congratulations to all of our winners and thank you for practicing the open source way.

User profile image.
Casey is a recent graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a degree in journalism. She spends too much time perusing social media sites, and she's especially fascinated by open source startups. twitter: @caseybrown_


Congrats to all that got a reward. Love reading all of your articles.

Congrats to all and thank you for making the community vibrant and lively!

Thank you for the Conversation Starter award and thank you for the Amazon gift card. I promise to spent the money foolishly.

Steve Stites

Foolishly...go for it...I love it!

Wow! What a wonderful thing to find after coming in from shoveling snow! Thank you!

Great to hear. And thank you!

Creative Commons LicenseThis work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.