Book club

The Open Organization book club August 31 - October 16

The Open Organization book club August 31–October 16

Starting on August 31, we invite you to join us for a virtual book club to discuss open leadership, organizational management, and other ideas from The Open Organization: Igniting Passion and Performance, by Jim Whitehurst. We'll go through chapter by chapter each week and see where you help us take the discussion.

Every week, our ambassadors and community members will guide us through a new chapter of the book. They will ask questions and offer insights to get us talking about ways to make our organizations more open. And if you haven't gotten a copy of the book, we still encourage you to chime in with your thoughts—our plan is to frame the discussion in a way that doesn't require a copy of the book.

Up next

  • October 12—open discussion thread, how a Cheerleader-in-Chief sets direction, with Jason Hibbets
  • October 15—Twitter chat at 2:00 pm ET/11:00 am PT (18:00 UTC) with Thomas Cameron, Charlene Li, Marten Mickos, and others #OpenOrgChat
  • October 16—recap from the week

Here's the official schedule.

Week of August 31—Chapter 1: Why opening up your org matters

Week of September 7—Chapter 2: Igniting passion

Week of September 14—Chapter 3: Building engagement

Week of September 21—Chapter 4: Choosing meritocracy

Week of September 28—Chapter 5: Letting the sparks fly

Week of October 5—Chapter 6: Making inclusive decisions

Week of October 12—Chapter 7: Catalyzing direction

  • October 12—open discussion thread, how a Cheerleader-in-Chief sets direction, with Jason Hibbets
  • October 15—Twitter chat at 2:00 pm ET/11:00 am PT (18:00 UTC) with Thomas Cameron, Charlene Li, Marten Mickos, and others #OpenOrgChat
  • October 16—recap from the week

If you want to start your own book club, be sure to review these free Open Organization discussion guides.